Denmark-facts & Numbers

On this page you will find a few Denmark-facts and numbers descriping this tiny little European country.

General information

  • Country name: Kingdom of Denmark
  • Population: 5.4 million
  • Religion: Christianity (Evangelical Lutheran)
  • Official language: Danish
  • Currency: Danish kroner - Dkr - Currency converter below
  • Timezone: UTC +1
  • National letters (on cars): DK
  • Internatinal phone code: +45
  • Emergency calls in Denmark: Call 112
  • Power/Voltage: 220 - 230 V
  • Speed limits: In the city: 50 km/h - Highway: 80 km/h - Freeway: 110 km/h. In some places you will find signs with different speed limit for certain areas.
  • National bird: The swan
  • Flag of Denmark:



  • Capital: Copenhagen
  • The four biggest cities Copenhagen, Aarhus, Odense and Aalborg
  • Areas of Denmark: Sealand, Jutland, Funen, Bornholm and The islands

Government of Denmark

  • Royal regent: Her Royal Majesty Queen Margrethe the second
  • Heir to the throne: His Majesty Crown Prince Frederik
  • Prime minister: Anders Fogh Rasmussen
  • Government prinipal: Democracy

National Holidays

  • New Years day (Nytårs dag)
  • Palme-sunday
  • Easter, where four days are official holdays; Skærtorsdag (Thursday), Langfredag (Friday), Easterday and second Easterday
  • Common Prayer Day(Store Bededag)
  • Ascension Day (Kristi Himmelfartsdag)
  • Whit-Sunday (Pinsedag)
  • Whit-Monday (2. Pinsedag)
  • Christmas Day (Juledag)
  • Second Christmas Day (2. Juledag)

Constitution Day (Grundlovs Dag), Labour Day and the day before Christmas Day (lille jule aften) are half holidays for most people.

Denmark is part of Scandinavia and we are also a member of The European Union

Learn more about Danish holidays here

From Denmark-facts back to home page